Yay me! I ran for an hour! I'm very proud of myself. I got an okay amount of mileage in as well. It was a little cold and windy, but nothing awful. I ran a pretty slow and steady pace, but the last mile I pounded out a 7ish minute mile. I felt good. My knees are a little tired and sore again, but it's a few hours after the fact.
I also bought some Nike Free 3.0.2 today. Not before the run. I'll do my first run with them tomorrow, if it's not too snowy.
Saturday, November 20, 2010
Friday, November 19, 2010
Wednesday, November 17, 2010
T-ville, 3.2 mile tempo run, 27? minutes
Today I got in a tempo run. It wasn't bad since it was relatively flat. I know it wasn't my goal pace, or my goal distance, but still, I did it. Also I can't actually remember how long I was out. I think 27 is high, but I can't prove this.
Saturday, November 13, 2010
Yellowfork, 30 minute tempo-ish run
Today we went up Yellowfork Canyon and I ran as close to a steady pace up the canyon for 16 minutes. I managed a good pace down, but that's down. I felt good when I got back.
Friday, November 12, 2010
Dimple Dell, Thought about doing a hill workout
I think I ran all of two hills today, and that's being generous to me. The team was at Dimple Dell prepping for Footlocker. I am trying to talk myself into the torture of hills, with very little success.
Thursday, November 11, 2010
T-ville, 3.2 miles
Just a run in order to get a run in. I did an errand at the beginning of it so it wasn't fully continuous.
Tuesday, November 9, 2010
Sugarhouse Fartlek, 3.5 total
Today I did a 4 x 4 minute, with 3 minute recovery run. It was hard. This is the first real workout I've done in a while and the first one I've done for myself in ages. I feel good now, but it was tough.
Monday, November 8, 2010
Coaching run, 2.5 miles
Today was cold and wet, and I let it get to me. I was going to do a fartleky thing, but due to the lateness of one of my runners and an injury on another I found excuses to limit my time out. It was just a maintenance run. Oh well.
Saturday, November 6, 2010
Shoreline trail, 4 miles
I'm not sure how long I took for this run, but I'm glad I did it. I was beginning to feel like running was an insurmountable deed, but this run shook that out of me. In fact i officially signed up for the Footlocker race!
Saturday, October 30, 2010
24 hour fundraiser, track, 5 miles
I did the 24 hour fundraiser with my runners today/yesterday, and I'm pretty happy with my efforts. During a 15 or so hour period I ran a total of 5 miles. The first 3 were all just barely sub 7 minutes. The 4th was 6:48, which I'm incredibly happy with seeing as I haven't run this fast since 2000 or so. And the 5th was 7:30.
Saturday, October 23, 2010
Bridge of Hope, 5k(ish), 25:41
So I ran a 5k today and I did okay, not what I wanted, but for the amount of training I put in it was what was to be expected. I got 3rd overall for the women, and I got 2nd in my age group (annoyingly, I would have gotten 1st if I'd been 29 still).I came in third after the woman that beat me in my age group, and an 11 year old. If ever there was a reason to get in shape, there it is.
I kinda like the racing thing now that it's not competitive, and it's just against my own time. I'm going to sign up for another race soon.
I kinda like the racing thing now that it's not competitive, and it's just against my own time. I'm going to sign up for another race soon.
Tuesday, October 12, 2010
Neighborhoodish, 3 miles, 25 minutes
Today was region cross country for my team. It wasn't a great day, and after dealing with my asshole assistant all I wanted to do was come home and go for a run. Thus the time, which for me, right now is decent. I went up from my house to melbourne, over to honeycut, down siggard, on highland, up 33, to imperial and home. I feel good.
Sunday, October 10, 2010
Neighborhood, 1.2 miles, time?
I'm starting this, to keep me motivated, and also to document my foray into partial barefoot running.
Today I did the loop around my neighborhood with truly bare feet. Prior to today I've only tried barefoot on grass and on the track. This was interesting. My feet were a bit tired, but the ground definitely worked on them. I expected this, but I see now why it is so important to train in small distances.
I did go for a 40 minute run in shoes yesterday and I had a great time, largely because my knees didn't hurt. Ever since I've been shifting my landing position as per the barefoot concept my knees have felt pretty good. I'm hoping that this barefoot thing will keep of the good feelings.
Today I did the loop around my neighborhood with truly bare feet. Prior to today I've only tried barefoot on grass and on the track. This was interesting. My feet were a bit tired, but the ground definitely worked on them. I expected this, but I see now why it is so important to train in small distances.
I did go for a 40 minute run in shoes yesterday and I had a great time, largely because my knees didn't hurt. Ever since I've been shifting my landing position as per the barefoot concept my knees have felt pretty good. I'm hoping that this barefoot thing will keep of the good feelings.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)